

Press Release

CBL-4: PBC outwits dark horse Niranam, emerges fist at Kayamkulam race

Alappuzha, Dec 14: Scripting a stunning finish with an incredible surge towards the last lap, Pallathurthi Boat Club (PBC) won today the penultimate race of the fourth edition of Champions Boat League (CBL-4), pushing Village Boat Club (VBC) to the second position and setting an exciting climax of the tournament concluding next weekend.

At the races on Kayamkulam backwaters this evening, Niranam Boat Club showed the prospect of emerging the topper, but could not sustain the momentum and eventually ended up third. PBC thus continued to be the dominators, rowing the illustrious Karichal snakeboat and covering the distance in 5:13:84 minutes as against 5:18:87 of the runners-up, paddling Veeyapuram. Niranam Boat Club (rowing Niranam chundan) clocked 5:19:44, emerging third with just one more race left in CBL being organised by Kerala Tourism.

The results today stood identical to last weekend's races in Karuvatta, but the dramatics here has had no parallel in the entire history of CBL. The championship never saw a race where a team that maintained a huge lead over its rivals eventually finished third, letting its rivals to overtake towards the dying moments and winning the race with a decent margin.

Coming fourth today was UBC Kainakary (rowing Thalavadi), followed by Kumarakam Town Boat Club (rowing Nadubhagam). At the sixth position was Punnamada Boat Club (Champakulam), while Kumarakam Boat Club (Melppadam boat) came seventh. Alappuzha Town Boat Club (Payipad) came eighth, even as Changanassery Boat Club (Ayaaparam Valia Divanji) finished last.

In the overall tally now, PBC continues atop, while VBC stands second and Niranam Boat Club third.

Today at Kayamkulam, UBC Kainakary finished fourth, followed by Kumarakam Town Boat Club (rowing Nadubhagam). At the sixth position was Kumarakam Boat Club (Melppadam boat). At the seventh was Punnamada Boat Club (Champakulam), while (Alappuzha Town Boat Club (Paipad) came eighth. Finishing last was Changanassery Boat Club (Ayaaparam Valia Divanji).

Smt U. Prathibha, MLA, inaugurated the race. Others present were Kayamkulam Municipal Chairperson Smt P. Sasikala, representatives of local self-governing bodies, Tourism department officials and members of the CBL management committee.





The next race (final) of CBL-4 is at Kollam, coinciding with President's Trophy, on December 21.

The teams finishing first, second and third in the league matches get Rs 5 lakh, Rs 3 lakh, and Rs 1 lakh, respectively. Based on the overall performance in the six races, the topper will be given Rs 25 lakh, the runner-up Rs 15 lakh and the team finishing third Rs 10 lakh.



After each match, all the participating teams receive Rs 3 lakh, and the snake-boat owners get Rs 1 lakh each as a bonus.

ENDS